Monday, January 10, 2011

2011 Newbery and Caldecott Medals & 2011 Printz Award winners

Finally getting back to the blogging.  I promised the ALA youth media award winners, and here are the big three.

Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature

Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool and published by Delacorte Press

Newbery Honor Books

Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm, published by Random House Children’s Books
Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus and published by Amulet Books
Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night by Joyce Sidman, illustrated by Rick Allen and published by Houghton 
Mifflin Books for Children
One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia and published by Amistad

Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children

A Sick Day for Amos McGee illustrated by Erin E. Stead.  The book was written by Philip C. Stead, and is published by Roaring Brook Press

Caldecott Honor Books

Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave,” illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Laban Carrick Hilland and published by Little, Brown and Company
Interrupting Chicken written and illustrated by David Ezra Stein and 
published by Candlewick Press.

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults

Ship Breaker written by Paolo Bacigalupi and published by Little, Brown and Company

Printz Honor Books 

Stolen by Lucy Christopher and published by Chicken House
Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King and published by Alfred A. Knopf
Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick and published by Roaring Brook Press
Nothing by Janne Teller and published by Atheneum Books for Young Readers

Just so you aren't totally overwhelmed, I'll list more of the ALA awards later.  For now, get out there and read some really fine books.  I know that's what I'll be doing.  Congratulations to all the winners including those who were honored.  High praise indeed.

No comments: